Wolf Administration Awards Nearly \$19 Million for Homelessness Assistance and Prevention

Harrisburg, PA — Today, Gov. Tom Wolf announced nearly \$19 million in funding awards to assist in mitigating the impacts of the coronavirus on homeless families and individuals and to prevent future homelessness across the commonwealth.

The Wolf Administration, through the Department of Community and Economic Development (DCED), is awarding the first of two allocations of Emergency Solutions Grant CARES Act (ESG-CV) funding provided through the US Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD) Coronavirus Aid, Relief and Economic Security (CARES) Act supplemental appropriation.

"The COVID-19 pandemic has adversely affected housing opportunities, safety, and reliability for thousands of Pennsylvanians. As we begin to recover our economy, we must also ensure that our most vulnerable Pennsylvanians and those at greatest risk of losing their homes and housing stability are able to recover as well," Gov. Wolf said. "Our homeless providers and partners are working tirelessly in their communities to end and prevent homelessness, and these distributions will drive direct support and assistance to counties in need across the state."

The CARES Act provided for two allocations of homeless assistance funds to prevent, prepare for, and respond to coronavirus among individuals and families who are homeless or receiving homeless assistance and to support additional homeless assistance and homelessness prevention activities to mitigate the impacts created by coronavirus. Sixty-three percent of funds awarded are targeted to address homelessness prevention, 22 percent to rapidly house those who are homeless and 8.4 percent to provide emergency shelter services and street outreach. The balance of funds awarded address data collection and administration needs.

A total of \$18,973,829 in ESG-CV funding was approved for the following recipients representing awards in 52 counties:

- Adams County Commissioners \$340,732
- Armstrong County Commissioners \$457,515
- Beaver County Commissioners \$49,820
- Berks County Commissioners \$300,000
- Blair County Community Action Program* \$1,385,373
- Bucks County Commissioners \$996,400
- Butler County Commissioners \$1,546,519
- Center for Community Action* \$312,700
- Central Susquehanna Opportunities* \$566,424
- Centre County Commissioners \$341,549
- Chester County Department of Community Development \$498,200
- Clinton County Housing Coalition* \$192,565
- Community Action Partnership of Cambria County* \$318,678
- Cumberland County Commissioners* \$79,500
- Dauphin County Commissioners \$628,633
- Domestic Violence Services of SWPA* \$403,711
- Franklin County Commissioners \$480,526
- Indiana County Commissioners \$99,640
- Lawrence County Social Services* \$3,355,362

- Lehigh County Commissioners \$305,004
- McKean County Commissioners \$150,148
- Mercer County Commissioners \$351,477
- Monroe County Commissioners* \$381,761
- Montgomery County Commissioners \$498,200
- Philadelphia Office of Homeless Services \$4,176,301
- Schuylkill County Commissioners \$448,335
- Union-Snyder Community Action Agency* \$131,440
- Wayne County Commissioners \$177,316

Blair County Community Action Program will distribute funding to Adams, Bedford, Blair, Cambria, Centre, Franklin, Fulton, Huntingdon, and Somerset counties.

Center for Community Action will distribute funding to Bedford, Fulton, Huntington, Mifflin, and Juniata counties.

Central Susquehanna Opportunities will distribute funding to Columbia, Montour, and Northumberland counties.

Clinton County Housing Coalition will distribute funding to Clinton, Lycoming, and Tioga counties.

Community Action Partnership of Cambria County will distribute funding to Cambria and Somerset counties.

Cumberland County Commissioners will distribute funding to Cumberland and Perry counties.

Domestic Violence Services of SWPA will distribute funding to Fayette, Greene, and Washington counties.

Lawrence County Social Services will distribute funding to Beaver, Cameron, Centre, Clearfield, Clarion, Elk, Fayette, Forest, Greene, Jefferson, Lawrence, McKean, Potter, Venango, and Warren counties.

Monroe County Commissioners will distribute funding to Monroe and Pike counties.

Union-Snyder Community Action Agency will distribute funding to Union and Snyder counties.

Applications were accepted from general-purpose units of local government, including cities, boroughs, townships, towns, counties, home rule municipalities, and communities that desire to apply "on behalf of" other municipalities. Local governments may apply "on behalf of" nonprofit organizations. Non-profit organizations can apply only for a regional project as long as it demonstrates a regional need and would serve multiple counties.

To learn more about the ESG-CV funding, click here.

^{*}Asterisks note a regional grant.